Resources

Building Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) into Bioethics and Health Humanities Scholarship and Practice

ASBH’s Board of Directors is proud to announce the start of a new webinar series, “Building DEI into Bioethics and Health Humanities Scholarship and Practice.” This series builds on ASBH's Strategic Priorities and promotes the Society's DEI Framework.

 

Each webinar will be offered to both members and nonmembers free of charge. Advance registration is required. 

Addressing Disability Health Disparities

Wednesday, January 18, 2023
Noon Central Time (1 PM ET, 11 AM MT, 10 AM PT)
Speaker: Joel Michael Reynolds, PhD MA, with an introduction by ASBH President Kayhan Parsi, JD PhD HEC-C

A large body of research suggests that ableism (discrimination in favor of able-bodied people or the assumption that a “normal” body and mind is better than an abnormal one) is a central and deeply entrenched issue within medical knowledge and practice, leading to disproportionately low quality and equity of care for disabled patients. However, attempts to concretely address this problem run into numerous obstacles. Building upon work across philosophy of disability and disability studies, we will discuss the causes of disability health disparities and the concrete steps that healthcare practitioners, bioethicists, and public health professionals can take to improve quality and equity of care for disabled patients. 

Antiracist Praxis in Bioethics: Implications for Health Equity

Thursday, December 8, 2022
1 PM Central Time (2 PM ET, Noon MT, 11 AM PT)
Speaker: Faith Fletcher, PhD MA, with an introduction by ASBH Secretary Sabrina Derrington, MD MA HEC-C

This presentation will consider the ways in which antiracist praxis offers strategies to explicitly address structural racism and inequities in the field of bioethics. This presentation will also highlight the importance of prioritizing antiracism in bioethics scholarship, education and practice to advance health equity.  

 

Our Past, Our Present, Our Future

Wednesday, April 27, 2022
Noon Central Time (1 pm ET, 11 am MT, 10 am PT)
Speaker: Nneka Sederstrom, PhD MPH MA FCCP FCCM, with an introduction by ASBH President Kayhan Parsi, JD PhD HEC-C

 

This presentation will consider the ways in which racism and inequity are embedded in medicine, with a historical and contemporary context. The presentation will explore how this understanding relates to the future work of bioethicists and how the development of empathy offers us a way forward.