ASBH offers many opportunities for members to get involved in all facets of the Society. ASBH members who are interested in further involvement are encouraged to read their email from the Society and respond to the opportunities that best suit their interests and availability. Throughout the year, ASBH issues calls for applications for a variety of positions including proposal reviewers and presentation timekeepers; committee and task force members; and elected roles on the board and nominating committee. 

Affinity Groups

Affinity groups meet once a year at the ASBH Annual Meeting and communicate throughout the year to exchange information about similar areas of interest. Those who are interested in participating are encouraged to choose a group(s) in their membership profile and to attend the annual meeting. Each group identifies a leader for the coming year. Those who are interested in leadership are invited to email the group leader or the ASBH office.

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee solicits nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Award, Distinguished Service Award, and Cornerstone Award and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors.

Clinical Ethics Consultation Affairs (CECA) Committee

The CECA Committee supports the goals of healthcare ethics consultation and the development of healthcare ethics consultants' capabilities for meeting the needs of patients, staff, and healthcare organizations. Each year several members rotate off the committee and new members are appointed to create, review, and promulgate resources and engage in other related activities. 

Executive Committee

The President, President-Elect, Immediate Past President, Secretary, and Treasurer comprise the Executive Committee and are authorized to exercise the powers of the Board in the management of the business and affairs of the Society between meetings of the Board.

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee solicits and reviews self-nominations for the board of directors and nominating committee and determines the ballot. This committee consists of six members: two members are elected by the membership to serve two-year terms, one member is appointed by the ASBH Board of Directors to serve a one-year term, and the Immediate Past President serves ex officio. The chair is appointed by the board.

Program Committee

The Program Committee consists of four people, each of whom is appointed by the board to serve a two-year term. Two members join and two rotate off the committee each year. All committee members are involved in the planning process and the selection of proposals, and the final decisions rest with the chair of the committee. The work of this committee is supported by proposal reviewers who score all of the submitted proposals and help to determine which are accepted for presentation at the annual meeting. 

Student Paper Award Committee

The Student Paper Award Committee invites and reviews submissions for the Student Paper Award that is presented at the annual meeting.

For more information about volunteering your time and talent on behalf of the Society, contact ASBH at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..